Research Administration & Principal Investigators - VA Salt Lake City Health Care System
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Salt Lake City Health Care System

Menu
Menu
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

Research Administration & Principal Investigators

Research Homepage Western Institue For Biomedical Research*
Cooperative Studies Program R&D Administration & Principal Investigators
GRECC- Geriatric Research, Education, Education & Clinical Center Research Vocabulary & Links
IDEAS Center of Innovation Research Policies and Procedures
VINCI- VA Informatics and Computing Infrastructure  

Research & Development Administrations

Dr. John Hoidal, MD.  Associate Chief of Staff-Research
John.hoidal@va.gov
Phone: 801.582.1565 ext. 4897

Dr. Noel Carlson, PhD Deputy Associate Chief of Staff-Research
Noel.carlson@va.gov
Phone 801.582.1565 X5251

Misti Seppi, MBA Administrative Officer Research
Misti.seppi@va.gov
Phone 801.582.1565 X4860

Research & Development Investigators

Name* VA Title Email
Jayant Agarwal, M.D. Physician Jay.Agarwal@hsc.utah.edu
Matthew Alexander, M.D. Radiologist matthew.alexander@hsc.utah.edu
Jeremiah Alt, M.D. Physician Jeremiah.Alt@hsc.utah.edu
Markus Amann, Ph.D. Researcher markus.amann@utah.edu
Balamurali Ambati, M.D., Ph.D. Attending Physician bala.ambati@utah.edu
Kent Bachus, Ph.D. Research Investigator Kent.Bachus@hsc.utah.edu
Michael Battistone, M.D. Staff Physician michael.battistone@hsc.utah.edu
Brian Baucom, Ph.D. Researcher brian.baucom@psych.utah.edu
Michelle Bauer, M.D. Medical Director, Substance Abuse Service michelle.bauer@va.gov
James Peter Beck, M.D. Attending Orthopaedic Surgeon James.Beck@hsc.utah.edu
Srinivasan Beddu, M.D. Physician srinivasan.beddhu@hsc.utah.edu
Bruce Bray, M.D. Attending Physician bruce.bray@hsc.utah.edu
Adam Bress, Pharm.D. Researcher adam.Bress@pharm.utah.edu
Benjamin Brooke, M.D. Attending Vascular Surgeon benjamin.brooke@hsc.utah.edu
Jorie Butler, Ph.D. Health Science Officer Jorie.Butler@va.gov
Michael Buys, M.D. Anesthesiologist michael.buys3@va.gov
Grant Cannon, M.D. ACOS for Academic Affiliations Grant.Cannon@med.va.gov
Lisa Cannon-Albright, M.S., Ph.D. Research Investigator Lisa.Albright@utah.edu
Noel Carlson, Ph.D. Deputy ACOS for R&D Noel.Carlson@va.gov
Lowell Chang, M.D. Staff Physician lowell.chang@va.gov
Wendy Chapman, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist wendy.chapman@utah.edu
Alfred Cheung, M.D. Physician alfred.cheung@hsc.utah.edu
Monique Cho, M.D. Attending Physician monique.cho@hsc.utah.edu
Stacey Clardy, M.D. Attending Physcian stacey.clardy@hsc.utah.edu
Daniel Clegu, M.D. Chief, Rheumatology Daniel.Clegg@hsc.utah.edu
Howard Colman, M.D., Ph.D. Attending Physician howard.colman@va.gov
Sarah Colonna, M.D. Attending Physcian Sarah.Colonna@hsc.utah.edu
Michael Conway, Ph.D. Researcher mike.conway@utah.edu
Stavros Drakos, M.D. Physician stavros.drakos@hsc.utah.edu
Frank Drews, Ph.D. Director of Patient Safety Section drews@psych.utah.edu
Scott Duvall, Ph.D. Director, VINCI scott.duvall@utah.edu
Paul Eleazar, M.D. Chief of Medicine paul.eleazer@va.gov
Angela Fagerlin, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist angie.fagerlin@hsc.utah.edu
John Fang, M.D. Staff Physician john.fang@hsc.utah.edu
Tracy Frech, M.D. Staff Physcian tracy.frech@hsc.utah.edu
David Gaffney, M.D., Ph.D. Physician david.gaffney@hci.utah.edu
Lorise Gahring, Ph.D. Research Biologist Lorise.Gahring@hsc.utah.edu
Eric Garland, Ph.D. Researcher eric.garland@socwk.utah.edu
Andrew Gawron, M.D., Ph.D. Physician andrew.gawron@va.gov
Edward Gilbert, M.D. Attending Physician edward.gilbert@hsc.utah.edu
Bradeigh Godfrey, D.O. Staff Physcian bradeigh.godfrey@hsc.utah.edu
Adam Gordon, M.D., M.P.H. Chief of Addiction Medicine adam.gordon@va.gov
Donald Granger, M.D. Physician don.granger@hsc.utah.edu
John Greenlee, M.D. Attending Physician john.greenlee@hsc.utah.edu
Janet Grissom, M.D. Psychiatrist grissom@chem.utah.edu
Adiseshu Gundulapalli, M.D., Ph.D. Facility Chief Health Informatics Officer adi.gundlapalli@hsc.utah.edu
Jia-Wen Guo, Ph.D. Researcher jia-wen.guo@nurs.utah.edu
Sumati Gupta, M.D. Attending Physician sumati.gupta@va.gov
Richard Gurgel, M.D. Attending Physician Richard.Gurgel@hsc.utah.edu
Ahmad Halwani, M.D. Attending Physcian Ahmad.Halwani@va.gov
Christopher Hanrahan, M.D., Ph.D. Radiologist christopher.hanrahan@hsc.utah.edu
John Hoidal, M.D. ACOS for R&D john.hoidal@hsc.utah.edu
John Horton, R.Ph. Director, Pharmacy & Food John.Horton2@va.gov
Douglas Hutchinson, M.D. Orthopeadic Surgeon douglas.hutchinson@hsc.utah.edu
Christopher Jackson, M.D. Attending Physician Christopher.Jackson@hsc.utah.edu
Sujeevini Jeyapalina, Ph.D. Research Investigator Sujee.Jeyapalina@hsc.utah.edu
Jessica Johnson, M.D. Gastroenterologist jessica.b.johnson@va.gov
Makoto Jones, M.D. Infectious Disease Physician makoto.jones@va.gov
Barbara Ellen Jones, M.D. Physician barbara.jones@hsc.utah.edu
Bellamkonda Kishore, M.D., Ph.D., MBA Research Investigator BK.Kishore@hsc.utah.edu
Curry Koening, M.D. Attending Physcian curry.koening@hsc.utah.edu
Donald Kohan, M.D., Ph.D. Physician donald.kohan@hsc.utah.edu
Douglas Kondo, M.D. Attending Physcian doug.kondo@hsc.utah.edu
Gary Kunkel, M.D. Physcian Gary.Kunkel@hsc.utah.edu
Joanne LaFleur, PharmD, MSPH Researcher joanne.lafleur@pharm.utah.edu
Molly Leecaster, Ph.D. Research Investigator molly.leecaster@va.gov
Margaret Legarreta, Ph.D. Psychologist margaret.legarreta@va.gov
Lisa Lesniewski, M.S., Ph.D. Research Health Scientist lisa.lesniewski@utah.edu
Catherine Loc-Carrillo, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist Catherine.Loc-Carrillo@va.gov 
William Lowrance, M.D. Staff Urologist Will.Lowrance@hci.utah.edu
Charles Lui, M.D. Staff Cardiologist Charles.Lui@va.gov
William Marchand, M.D. Clinical Director, Whole Health Service william.marchand@va.gov
Shannon Mauszycki, Ph.D. Research Speech Pathologist shannon.mauszycki@utah.edu
Jeanmarie Mayer, M.D. Physician jeanmarie.mayer@hsc.utah.edu
Erin McGlad, Ph.D. Physchologist erin.mcglade@hsc.utah.edu
Laurence Meyer, M.D., Ph.D. Chief Officer Specialty Care Services meyer@derm.med.utah.edu
Mustafa Mir-Kasimov, M.D. Attending Physician Mustafa.Mir-Kasimov@hsc.utah.edu
April Mohanty, Ph.D., M.P.H. Researcher april.mohanty@va.gov
Janice Morse, Ph.D. Researcher janice.morse@nurs.utah.edu
Matthew Movsesian, M.D. Attending Physician Matthew.Movsesian@hsc.utah.edu
Yoshio Nakamura Researcher yn5@utah.edu
Jose Nativi-Nicolau, M.D. Attending Physician jose.nativi-nicolau@hsc.utah.edu
Richard Nelson, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist richard.nelson2@va.gov
John Nord, M.D. Attending Physician john.nord@hsc.utah.edu
Heather Nyman, Pharm.D. Pharmacist heather.nyman@hsc.utah.edu
Robert Paine, M.D. Physician Robert.Paine@hsc.utah.edu
Olga Patterson, Ph.D. Researcher olga.patterson@va.gov
Mateo Paz Soldan, M.D. Physician mateo.pazsoldan@hsc.utah.edu
William Peche, M.D. Attending Physcian William.Peche@hsc.utah.edu
Jeff Pettey, M.D. Attending Physician Jeff.Pettey@hsc.utah.edu
Josef Prchal, M.D. Physician josef.prchal@hsc.utah.edu
Mary Jo Pugh, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist maryjo.pugh2@va.gov
Ravi Ranjan, M.D. Staff Physician ravi.ranjan@hsc.utah.edu
Kalani Raphael, M.D. Attending Physician Kalani.Raphael@hsc.utah.edu
Perry Renshaw, M.D., Ph.D., MPA Physician perry.renshaw@hsc.utah.edu
Jamie Rhoads, M.D. Attending Physician jamie.rhoads@hsc.utah.edu
Russell Richardson, Ph.D. Senior Research Career Scientist r.richardson@hsc.utah.edu
Toni Roberts, D.O. Chief, Rehabilitation Services toni.roberts@va.gov
Jennifer Romesser, Psy.D. Psychologist jennifer.romesser@va.gov
Matthew Rondina, M.D. Staff Physician matt.rondina@u2m2.utah.edu
John Rose, M.D. Assit. Chief Neurology jrose@genetics.utah.edu
Richard Rose, M.D. Attending Physician Richard.Rose3@va.gov
Michael Rubin, M.D., Ph.D. Chief, Epidemiology michael.rubin@hsc.utah.edu
Randall Rupper, M.D., M.P.H. Physician Randall.Rupper@va.gov
Matthew Samore, M.D. Director, IDEAS matthew.samore@hsc.utah.edu
Karl Sanders, M.D. Staff Physician karl.sanders@hsc.utah.edu
Brian Sauer, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist brian.sauer@utah.edu
Craig Selzman, M.D. Physician Craig.Selzman@hsc.utah.edu
Ruggero Serafini, M.D., Ph.D. Neurologist roger.serafini@hsc.utah.edu
Lubdha Shah, M.D. Radiologist lubdha.shah@hsc.utah.edu
Catherine Sherwin, Ph.D. Researcher catherine.sherwin@hsc.utah.edu
Yan-Ting Shiu, Ph.D. Researcher Y.Shiu@utah.edu
Natalie Silverton, M.D. Anesthesiologist natalie.silverton@hsc.utah.edu
Sarina Sinclair, Ph.D. Research Scientist sarina.sinclair@hsc.utah.edu
Emily Spivak, M.D. Attending Physician emily.spivak@va.gov
Josef Stehlik, M.D., M.P.H. Attending Cardiologist josef.stehlik@hsc.utah.edu
Robert Stephenson, M.D. Surgeon robert.stephenson2@va.gov
Vanessa Stevens, Ph.D. Researcher vanessa.stevens@pharm.utah.edu
Mark Supiano, M.D. Director, GRECC mark.supiano@hsc.utah.edu
Sankar Swaminathan, M.D. Attending Physician sankar.swaminathan@hsc.utah.edu
Shaida Talebreza-Brandon, M.D. Attending Physician shaida.talebreza@va.gov
Tsewang Tashi, M.D. Physician tsewang.tashi@va.gov
Robert Tashjian, M.D. Staff Orthopaedic Surgeon Robert.Tashjian@hsc.utah.edu
Ning Tian, Ph.D. Research Investigator ning.tian@hsc.utah.edu
Damon Toth, Ph.D. Researcher toth@math.utah.edu
Gerald Treiman, M.D. Physician Gerald.Treiman@va.gov
Joel Trinity, Ph.D. Researcher joel.trinity@utah.edu
Ashok Tuteja, M.D., M.P.H. Physician ashok.tuteja@hsc.utah.edu
Andrew Tyser, M.D. Attending Physician andy.tyser@hsc.utah.edu
Amelia Underwood, M.D. Physician amelia.underwood@va.gov
Elizabeth Unni, Ph.D. Researcher eunni@roseman.edu
Megan Vanneman, Ph.D., M.P.H. Research Health Scientist megan.vanneman@va.gov
Travis (Scott) Wall M.D. Staff Physcian scott.wall@va.gov
Jessica Walsh, M.D. Physician Jessica.Walsh@hsc.utah.edu
Julie Wambaugh, Ph.D. Research Speech Pathologist Julie.Wambaugh@health.utah.edu
Harrison Weinstein, Psy.D. Psychologist harrison.weinstein@va.gov
Sara Weisenbach, Ph.D. Clinical Psychologist Sara.Weisenbach@hsc.utah.edu
Corrine Welt, M.D. Attending Physician corrine.welt@va.gov
Christof Westenfelder, M.D. Chief, Renal Section christof.westenfelder@hsc.utah.edu
Kevin Whitehead, M.D. Attending Physician kevin.whitehead@hsc.utah.edu
Elisabeth Wilde Ph.D. Research Health Scientist elisabeth.wilde@va.gov
Dustin Williams, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist dustin.williams@utah.edu
Jana Wold, M.D. Stroke Director Jana.Wold@va.gov
David Walter Wray, Ph.D. Research Investigator walter.wray@hsc.utah.edu
Tianxin Yang, M.D., Ph.D. Research Inventigator tianxin.yang@hsc.utah.edu
Peter Yarbrough, M.D. Section Chief, Hospital Medicine peter.yarbrough@hsc.utah.edu
Deborah Yurgelun-Todd, Ph.D. Associate Director, VISN 19 MIRECC Deborah.Yurgelun-Todd@hsc.utah.edu
Susan Zickmund, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist Susan.Zickmund@va.gov
Joshua Zimmerman, M.D. Assistant Director of Echocardiography joshua.zimmerman@hsc.utah.edu

 

* Links will take you outside of the Department of Veterans Affairs Website. VA does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of the linked websites. The link will open in a new window.