Research Administration & Principal Investigators - VA Salt Lake City Health Care System
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Salt Lake City Health Care System

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge

Research Administration & Principal Investigators

Research Homepage Western Institue For Biomedical Research*
Cooperative Studies Program R&D Administration & Principal Investigators
GRECC- Geriatric Research, Education, Education & Clinical Center Research Vocabulary & Links
IDEAS Center of Innovation Research Policies and Procedures
VINCI- VA Informatics and Computing Infrastructure  

Research & Development Administrations

Dr. John Hoidal, MD.  Associate Chief of Staff-Research
Phone: 801.582.1565 ext. 4897

Dr. Noel Carlson, PhD Deputy Associate Chief of Staff-Research
Phone 801.582.1565 X5251

Misti Seppi, MBA Administrative Officer Research
Phone 801.582.1565 X4860

Research & Development Investigators

Name* VA Title Email
Jayant Agarwal, M.D. Physician
Matthew Alexander, M.D. Radiologist
Jeremiah Alt, M.D. Physician
Markus Amann, Ph.D. Researcher
Balamurali Ambati, M.D., Ph.D. Attending Physician
Kent Bachus, Ph.D. Research Investigator
Michael Battistone, M.D. Staff Physician
Brian Baucom, Ph.D. Researcher
Michelle Bauer, M.D. Medical Director, Substance Abuse Service
James Peter Beck, M.D. Attending Orthopaedic Surgeon
Srinivasan Beddu, M.D. Physician
Bruce Bray, M.D. Attending Physician
Adam Bress, Pharm.D. Researcher
Benjamin Brooke, M.D. Attending Vascular Surgeon
Jorie Butler, Ph.D. Health Science Officer
Michael Buys, M.D. Anesthesiologist
Grant Cannon, M.D. ACOS for Academic Affiliations
Lisa Cannon-Albright, M.S., Ph.D. Research Investigator
Noel Carlson, Ph.D. Deputy ACOS for R&D
Lowell Chang, M.D. Staff Physician
Wendy Chapman, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
Alfred Cheung, M.D. Physician
Monique Cho, M.D. Attending Physician
Stacey Clardy, M.D. Attending Physcian
Daniel Clegu, M.D. Chief, Rheumatology
Howard Colman, M.D., Ph.D. Attending Physician
Sarah Colonna, M.D. Attending Physcian
Michael Conway, Ph.D. Researcher
Stavros Drakos, M.D. Physician
Frank Drews, Ph.D. Director of Patient Safety Section
Scott Duvall, Ph.D. Director, VINCI
Paul Eleazar, M.D. Chief of Medicine
Angela Fagerlin, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
John Fang, M.D. Staff Physician
Tracy Frech, M.D. Staff Physcian
David Gaffney, M.D., Ph.D. Physician
Lorise Gahring, Ph.D. Research Biologist
Eric Garland, Ph.D. Researcher
Andrew Gawron, M.D., Ph.D. Physician
Edward Gilbert, M.D. Attending Physician
Bradeigh Godfrey, D.O. Staff Physcian
Adam Gordon, M.D., M.P.H. Chief of Addiction Medicine
Donald Granger, M.D. Physician
John Greenlee, M.D. Attending Physician
Janet Grissom, M.D. Psychiatrist
Adiseshu Gundulapalli, M.D., Ph.D. Facility Chief Health Informatics Officer
Jia-Wen Guo, Ph.D. Researcher
Sumati Gupta, M.D. Attending Physician
Richard Gurgel, M.D. Attending Physician
Ahmad Halwani, M.D. Attending Physcian
Christopher Hanrahan, M.D., Ph.D. Radiologist
John Hoidal, M.D. ACOS for R&D
John Horton, R.Ph. Director, Pharmacy & Food
Douglas Hutchinson, M.D. Orthopeadic Surgeon
Christopher Jackson, M.D. Attending Physician
Sujeevini Jeyapalina, Ph.D. Research Investigator
Jessica Johnson, M.D. Gastroenterologist
Makoto Jones, M.D. Infectious Disease Physician
Barbara Ellen Jones, M.D. Physician
Bellamkonda Kishore, M.D., Ph.D., MBA Research Investigator
Curry Koening, M.D. Attending Physcian
Donald Kohan, M.D., Ph.D. Physician
Douglas Kondo, M.D. Attending Physcian
Gary Kunkel, M.D. Physcian
Joanne LaFleur, PharmD, MSPH Researcher
Molly Leecaster, Ph.D. Research Investigator
Margaret Legarreta, Ph.D. Psychologist
Lisa Lesniewski, M.S., Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
Catherine Loc-Carrillo, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist 
William Lowrance, M.D. Staff Urologist
Charles Lui, M.D. Staff Cardiologist
William Marchand, M.D. Clinical Director, Whole Health Service
Shannon Mauszycki, Ph.D. Research Speech Pathologist
Jeanmarie Mayer, M.D. Physician
Erin McGlad, Ph.D. Physchologist
Laurence Meyer, M.D., Ph.D. Chief Officer Specialty Care Services
Mustafa Mir-Kasimov, M.D. Attending Physician
April Mohanty, Ph.D., M.P.H. Researcher
Janice Morse, Ph.D. Researcher
Matthew Movsesian, M.D. Attending Physician
Yoshio Nakamura Researcher
Jose Nativi-Nicolau, M.D. Attending Physician
Richard Nelson, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
John Nord, M.D. Attending Physician
Heather Nyman, Pharm.D. Pharmacist
Robert Paine, M.D. Physician
Olga Patterson, Ph.D. Researcher
Mateo Paz Soldan, M.D. Physician
William Peche, M.D. Attending Physcian
Jeff Pettey, M.D. Attending Physician
Josef Prchal, M.D. Physician
Mary Jo Pugh, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
Ravi Ranjan, M.D. Staff Physician
Kalani Raphael, M.D. Attending Physician
Perry Renshaw, M.D., Ph.D., MPA Physician
Jamie Rhoads, M.D. Attending Physician
Russell Richardson, Ph.D. Senior Research Career Scientist
Toni Roberts, D.O. Chief, Rehabilitation Services
Jennifer Romesser, Psy.D. Psychologist
Matthew Rondina, M.D. Staff Physician
John Rose, M.D. Assit. Chief Neurology
Richard Rose, M.D. Attending Physician
Michael Rubin, M.D., Ph.D. Chief, Epidemiology
Randall Rupper, M.D., M.P.H. Physician
Matthew Samore, M.D. Director, IDEAS
Karl Sanders, M.D. Staff Physician
Brian Sauer, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
Craig Selzman, M.D. Physician
Ruggero Serafini, M.D., Ph.D. Neurologist
Lubdha Shah, M.D. Radiologist
Catherine Sherwin, Ph.D. Researcher
Yan-Ting Shiu, Ph.D. Researcher
Natalie Silverton, M.D. Anesthesiologist
Sarina Sinclair, Ph.D. Research Scientist
Emily Spivak, M.D. Attending Physician
Josef Stehlik, M.D., M.P.H. Attending Cardiologist
Robert Stephenson, M.D. Surgeon
Vanessa Stevens, Ph.D. Researcher
Mark Supiano, M.D. Director, GRECC
Sankar Swaminathan, M.D. Attending Physician
Shaida Talebreza-Brandon, M.D. Attending Physician
Tsewang Tashi, M.D. Physician
Robert Tashjian, M.D. Staff Orthopaedic Surgeon
Ning Tian, Ph.D. Research Investigator
Damon Toth, Ph.D. Researcher
Gerald Treiman, M.D. Physician
Joel Trinity, Ph.D. Researcher
Ashok Tuteja, M.D., M.P.H. Physician
Andrew Tyser, M.D. Attending Physician
Amelia Underwood, M.D. Physician
Elizabeth Unni, Ph.D. Researcher
Megan Vanneman, Ph.D., M.P.H. Research Health Scientist
Travis (Scott) Wall M.D. Staff Physcian
Jessica Walsh, M.D. Physician
Julie Wambaugh, Ph.D. Research Speech Pathologist
Harrison Weinstein, Psy.D. Psychologist
Sara Weisenbach, Ph.D. Clinical Psychologist
Corrine Welt, M.D. Attending Physician
Christof Westenfelder, M.D. Chief, Renal Section
Kevin Whitehead, M.D. Attending Physician
Elisabeth Wilde Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
Dustin Williams, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
Jana Wold, M.D. Stroke Director
David Walter Wray, Ph.D. Research Investigator
Tianxin Yang, M.D., Ph.D. Research Inventigator
Peter Yarbrough, M.D. Section Chief, Hospital Medicine
Deborah Yurgelun-Todd, Ph.D. Associate Director, VISN 19 MIRECC
Susan Zickmund, Ph.D. Research Health Scientist
Joshua Zimmerman, M.D. Assistant Director of Echocardiography


* Links will take you outside of the Department of Veterans Affairs Website. VA does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of the linked websites. The link will open in a new window.